You know all the soccer teams in London: from Arsenal to West Ham

The teams that stand out from the capital of London: what are they ? The Premier League is one of the most important leagues in the world of soccer. Its headquarters in England is the focus throughout the year for great matches and especially in its capital, London, which hosts great derbies that raise passions among the most soccer fans.


The six soccer teams in London


Based in Holloway, this team was founded in 1886. When it was created in this year it was under the name of ‘Dial Square’ by the employees of an armaments factory located in southwest London. After becoming a public limited company in 1893 it changed its name to ‘Woolwich Arsenal’ and years later the first word would be removed to stay with Arsenal, a name it retains to this day.

In all this time of history they have won 13 league championships and 14 FA Cups, at national level, of the latter they are the team that has the most. Since 2006 they play at the Emirates Stadium and is the London club that has more followers, being called ‘gunners’.


Their 115 years of history have given them a lot to look back on. The London team was created in 1905 by two businessmen who bought Stamford Bridge, at that time an athletics stadium, to convert it into a soccer stadium. In the second season they played they were already in the first division of the Football League, which at that time was what is today the Premier League.

Up to the present time they have 6 Leagues, 8 FA Cups, 5 Football League Cups and 4 Community Shields. Its most direct rival in the derbies is Fullham due to the fact that both are located to the West of London. The stadium, Stamford Bridge, has remained the same ever since with the occasional refurbishment.

Crystal Palace

Curiously, this club was founded in the same year as the previous one, only Crystal Palace was founded months later. It is a historic club that in the 2004-2005 season was relegated to the Second Division and after a few years in the silver division in 2013 again returned to the First Division. They do not have any title at national level to their credit, the closest they have been in recent times to get it was in the FA Cup in 2016 which came second place being the winners Manchester United.

Selhurst Park

Selhurst Park, Crystal Palace’s stadium.
This team located in the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham was created in 1879. It did so under the name Fulham St Andrew’s Church Sunday School FC. It is the oldest team in the London capital.

Its home ground has always been Craven Cottage which in the 2003 and 2004 season underwent renovations and the team moved to Loftus Road, the stadium of Queens Park Rangers.

Tottenham Hotspur

It is the second oldest club in the capital of England. Its first name was Hotspur Football Club. Two years later, to avoid being confused with another existing club, it was renamed Tottenham Hotspur Football Club.

Since its creation date they have won 2 league championships, 8 FA Cups, 4 League Cups and 7 Community Shields. In the 2016-2017 season they premiered stadium being their new home the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

West Ham

Since it was founded in 1895 they have won 3 FA Cups and 1 Community Shield. In its beginnings it had the name Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Co Ltd, but 15 years later it would be changed to the current one. Since 2016 their home is the Olympic Stadium and previously it had been the Boleyn Ground. Its fans are among the loudest, especially since the hooligan movement of the 1970s and 1980s.

Leave a comment

London News